Welcome to Friends of Education

Friends of Education's mission is to improve the education of children.  Improving K-12 education since 1999, Friends supports programs which emphasize content and critical thinking with demonstrated evidence of increasing student achievement and post-secondary readiness.

The Minnesota Department of Education awarded Friends of Education its highest Exemplary rating of charter school authorizer performance. 


Important Upcoming Dates


01.27.2017 @ 3:00pm       (for a Fall 2018 opening)

Submit to:
Friends of Education
200 East Lake Street
Wayzata, MN 55391


Scheduled upon request

Topics include application requirements, common deficiencies, and quality application components.

Email info@improveK-12education.org 

Session held at:
TCF Financial Corporation 200 East Lake Street Wayzata, MN  55391


Yinghua Academy named a National Blue Ribbon School

U.S. Secretary of Education Recognizes Seven Minnesota Schools as 2015 National Blue Ribbon Schools

ROSEVILLE, MN – U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan today recognized seven Minnesota schools as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2015 based on their overall academic excellence. Schools recognized as Exemplary High Performing Schools are among their state’s highest performing schools, as measured by state assessments or national standardized tests.

“This honor recognizes your students’ accomplishments and the hard work and dedication that went into their success,” said Secretary Duncan in a video message to awardees. “Your journey has taught you collaboration, intentional instruction, and strong relationships in school and with your community. You represent excellence—in vision, in implementation, and in results—and we want to learn as much as we can from you.”

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools where students achieve very high learning standards. The award affirms the hard work of students, educators, families and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging content, and the award flag is a widely recognized symbol of exemplary teaching and learning. 

The U.S. Department of Education will honor 285 public and 50 private schools at a recognition ceremony on Nov. 9-10 in Washington, D.C. In its 33-year history, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has honored more than 8,000 of America’s schools with this award.

 “It is heartening to see Minnesota schools receive recognition on a national stage,” said Minnesota Department of Education Commissioner Brenda Cassellius. “Minnesotans should be very proud of the incredible work going on in our schools by our students and teachers.”

The recognized schools from Minnesota are:

  • Friedell Middle School, Rochester Public School District
  • Mahtomedi Senior High School, Mahtomedi Public School District
  • Monroe Elementary School, Mankato Public School District
  • Plainview-Elgin-Millville 4-6 School, Plainview-Elgin-Millville Community Schools
  • Sleepy Eye Elementary School, Sleepy Eye Public School District
  • Washington-Kosciusko Elementary School, Winona Area Public School District
  • Yinghua Academy, Minneapolis


News & Events

View All News & Events